top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Thirsty or Thirty?


Feelings – my favorite set of vocabulary to teach. As you know, I teach ESL to little kids here in Thailand. Generally, Thai people seem to have difficulty sounding the letter “s”. I actually have pictures for these words and I let them memorize the words describing the feelings shown in each of them.

I was doing the usual routine of flipping the pictures and the kids try to shout out feelings. We came into this photo of a guy sticking his tongue out and holding a glass.

One kid shouted, “Thirty” ( having difficulty pronouncing the s) .

I said, “Nope, not thirty”.

Another kid replied, “Forty? “

I couldn’t just stop laughing the entire day about it. Well, how’s that? Isn’t it great to teach little kids? LOL. You know what else is nice about teaching little kids? It is when you dress up and put on some make up (which I don’t really do all the time) and they would say “teacher, you are so pretty.” Or when they run towards you, hug you (and sometimes they would kiss you) and call you “Beautiful Teacher”.

So, I usually make it a point to wear super colorful clothes just so when I teach them and I talk in front they would look at me. Aside from that, I actually try to over exaggerate my actions and facial expressions when I'm teaching a new song or new vocabularies. It actually works.

Where do I actually get my unlimited spurts of energy? This question bothers me.LOL. Because the answer is coffee. I get super hyper when I have coffee that sometimes I think I am crazy. I actually believe that good days and good ideas start with coffee.

What are the joys of your work? Not all of us are pretty much stoked to wake up and go to work every day. Why not try thinking of the good things no matter how little they are? Believe it or not, I am not so happy about my work either but I keep thinking of those little things that make it worth waking up to everyday.


RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page