top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

Winter Misery

I guess this is what they meant when they say “I am miserable.”

I couldn’t remember saying this expression when anyone asked me how I was before. The typical overused, not meant reply I usually gave in the past was “I am fine.”

These days though, whenever one asks “how are you?”. With no further ado, I would say... ” I’m miserable.”

Yeah I sound like Scrooge all right but I seriously can’t help feeling it. I had been warned that the city I will have to live in is colder than Istanbul. I had been told many times that this city experiences extreme winter like negative 30 degrees Celsius. But I thought, it couldn’t be that bad. Well, what do I know?--- It is very bad. LOL.

Imagine waking up to a freezing foggy day outside. You are all wrapped up and you get out. The moment you go out, that freezing cold hits your face so you adjust your scarf to cover it. Well, except your eyes of course. Then, you keep your hands on your pocket and you cross the street and you try to beat the traffic lights but then cars start to run so you run. I couldn’t believe I would run with my hands in my pockets. Pretty funny when I think about it once I got on the school bus.

I have never been so happy in my entire life to reach school on workdays. I am not happy that I am going to work and teach but I am basically very happy to be inside a warm place. I always complained about how hot and humid Bangkok was and I have always wished to be somewhere cold.

Wish granted. I got here. I was once told that “If all of our wishes come true we would end up miserable.” I guess it is true. So , the saying that goes, “Be careful what you wish for, ‘cause you might just get it all and some you don’t want.”

On the positive side, I am not entirely unhappy or miserable. I am miserable when it comes to the weather but I am definitely happy with everything else in here. I love my workplace, my big bosses, my colleagues and the kids are super pretty and lovely but naughty at times—no most times is the exact phrase. LOL.

It is not every day that it gets extremely cold though. Some days the sun comes out and I get to be uber happy that I don’t want the sunshine to go to waste. Last Saturday, I had so much fun walking around the famous outdoor shopping center in this city and chitchatting with some work colleagues. I love sunny Saturdays ‘cause it only means one thing--- I get to wear my favorite white sneakers from H&M and my favorite ripped jeans. I was able to wear my autumn trench coat I scored on a sale from Forever 21 when I was in Bangkok. Bracing myself for colder weather coming up soon… I can only hope I get the hang of this winter misery.


RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page